What Brought Me Here?

As well as being a unique story of film making success, Kevin Smith is a source of inspiration to me as an artist and a creator. Having made a movie like ‘Clerks’ at such a young age and taking it to the Sundance Film Festival where it was adored and still is, Kevin has a particular outlook on life, which he constantly urges anyone who will listen to adopt the same mindset. Myself, being a huge fan of his comedic style, the View Askewniverse and his few college lectures from the early 2000s as well as an avid watcher of his online show ‘Fatman on Batman’, have come to appreciate the sentiments he shares. One quote which encompasses Kevin’s brand of humour and his outlook being “It doesn’t even take TALENT to do what I did; I’m living proof of that. All you need to do is identify what you love to do and monetize that” (Smith, 2017). On a more serious note he also has said many times “Remember: You be you. Your voice is the only currency in this world that you’ll never have to earn or fret about losing. So spend it often” (Smith,2017) and this strikes a chord with me knowing that maybe I could have something to say, I just haven’t found the words yet. It’s the culmination of these two things that have compelled me to study film because I know it is what I love and I want to find my voice in the world of movies.

 

References

KevinSmith on Twitter: “Remember: You be you. Your voice is the only currency in this world that you’ll never have to earn or fret about losing. So spend it often.”. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://twitter.com/thatkevinsmith/status/503360001801322496

 

My Boring Ass Life. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://silentbobspeaks.com/?42ee7fc0&paged=51

Leave a Reply

